Doce Pares founding fathers

The Foundation of Doce Pares

Doce Pares was founded on January 11,1932 by a small group of Eskrima Masters spearheaded by Eulogio Cañete, Lorenzo Saavedra and Teodoro Saavedra. Twelve of them originally conceptualised it but shortly after its inauguration on January 21 that year, the membership rose to twenty four. Eulogio Cañete and Teodoro Saavedra were elected as President and Vice President respectively. Other elected officers and original members were, Fortunato Peñalosa (secretary), Marcelo Verano, Deogracias Nadela, Strong Tupas, Rodolfo Quijano, Pio Deiparine, Florentino Cañete, Felimon Cañete, Juanito Lauron, Federico Saavedra, Cecilio Dela Victoria, Lorenzo Saavedra, Margarito Revilles and Anastacio Deiparine.

The name Doce Pares was adopted in reference to the famous twelve bodyguards of Emperor Charlemagne of France (AD 768-814). These twelve people - all top swordsmen - were known to have fought and killed hundreds of enemies in battles.

Doce Pares, which means "twelve pairs" in Spanish, was also meant to honor the twelve people who originally planned to form the organisation. And when the membership rose to twenty-four at the time of the inauguration, it indeed became more significantly fitting.

Eulogio Cañete held on the presidency of Doce Pares until his death in June 1988. His second eldest son Eulogio, jr. succeeded him as President up to the present. His youngest son, Grandmaster Diony is the Executive Director and Chairman of Doce Pares Council of Masters. (None of the founding members are alive today, the last one GM Felimon Cañete died in 1995 at 91 years of age)

Subsequently, the organisation became Doce Pares, Incorporated when it was registered as non-stock, non-profit corporation with the Securities and Exchange Commission which issued certificate of registration no. 1373.

Courtesy of Supreme Grand Master Diony Canete © Doce Pares International